Golden Bear Award

2019 Recipient – Kaiser Permanente

Kaiser Permanente exemplifies the commitment it has to the community through its partnership with the California State Fair. Kaiser Permanente has formally partnered with the California State Fair for more than a decade. The healthcare organization currently sponsors the California State Fair Farm and School Farm Tours. It provides sunscreen for guests throughout the Fair and interactive programs, such as the “plant a seed” program during the California State Fair.

During the California State Fair, Kaiser Permanente allows us to their parking lot across the street on Saturdays and Sundays for Fair guest parking. Kaiser also sponsors a Kaiser Kids Day at the Fair where they select and bring a group of children to the Fair. During the 2018 Fair, Kaiser sponsored 170 children and parents for Kaiser Kids Day.

Kaiser Permanente began its partnership with the Fair in 2005 when it served as the title partner of the Kids’ Park and Kids’ Stage from 2005-2008. Kaiser also worked with the California State Fair to create a “Treasure Map” around the Fair so that guests could walk 10,000 healthy steps. Kaiser was the official Sponsor of “Thriving Seniors” and gave away pedometers to the first several hundred guests on Senior Days.

Year Recipient
2018 BloodSource and Univision
2017 Pete Leesha
2016 Gail Kautz
2015 Joe Barkett
2014 Golden 1 Credit Union
2013 Save Mart Supermarkets
2012 Earl “Butch” Butler
2011 Harry Moos
2010 California Cattlemen’s Association
2010 Ralph Petty
2009 Willie Pelote, Sr.
2009 California State Fair, Agricultural Advisory Council
2008 Sacramento Magazine
2007 California State 4-H
2007 Future Farmers of America
2006 California Milk Advisory Board, Butch Diaz, Chair
2005 Steve Markstein
2004 Steve Beneto
2003 Lou Blanas, Sacramento County Sheriff’s Dept.
2002 Cotton Rosser
2001 George & Gloria Soares
2001 Robert Spacagna
2000 California Forest Products Commission
1999 Robert Mason, Sacramento Coca-Cola Bottling Co.
1999 The Black Culture Day Committee
1999 Jean Runyon, Runyon, Saltzman & Einhorn
1998 University of California, Davis
1997 Larry & Joann Davis, Carnival Time Shows, Inc.
1996 Donald Brown, Lucky Stores
1995 Laura Trout, Assistant Executive Director, Western Fairs Association
1994 Ben B. Norman, DVM, University of California, Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine
1993 Henry J. Voss, Director of the California Department of Food and Agriculture
1992 Bob Vice, California Farm Bureau
1991 Gordon Nooyen, Friends of the California State Fair
1990 Dave Caffrey, Governor Deukmejian’s Cabinet Secretary
1989 Senator Leroy Greene
1988 Joe Albertson, Albertson’s
1987 Don Hansen, Crystal Cream and Butter Company
1986 Chris Almeida, California Department of Education
1985 Ron Sellers, Sacramento Coca-Cola Bottling Co.
1985 Janece Long, Friends of the California State Fair
1984 Jack Clifford, Pacific Coast Quarter Horse Racing Association
1977 Jim Van Maren, California Chamber of Commerce, Agriculture Committee