Agriculture Progress Award

2019 Recipient – Dr. Lloyd McCabe

Dr. Lloyd McCabe began his very active and long-standing involvement and support of the California State Fair in 1963 as an exhibitor, and has continued on as an FFA Advisor, FFA Task Force Coordinator, Junior Livestock Advisory Committee and a 20-year member of the Agricultural Advisory Council. Over the years, Lloyd has become very committed to the Scholarship Program, the Gala, the Sale of Champions and the Champion Challenge program. Lloyd’s contributions to the youth agricultural programs at the California State Fair are immeasurable. He has always been committed to helping State Fair become one of the premier fairs in the nation.

Dr. McCabehas 43 years of Educational experience, which includes 29 years at the Department of Education and 14 years as a High School Agriculture Teacher. Dr. McCabe continues to teach Ag education and leadership classes at UC Davis. He graduated from CSU, Fresno with a B.S. in Agricultural Education. He went on to receive a M.S. in Agricultural Sciences from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, a Master of Education, Administrative Management from University of La Verne and finally a Doctorate of Education from the University of Southern California.

Dr. McCabe was born and grew up on a farm and has raised sheep his entire life. He has a special affinity for the Suffolk breed and he and his wife have competed very successfully on the county, state, regional and national level. He is a member of the California Wool Growers Association, California Agricultural Teachers’ Association and the American Association for Agricultural Educators.


Year Recipient
2018 Greg Boeger
2018 Dr. Marit Arana
2017 Chris Zanobini
2016 Judy Culbertson
2015 Judy King Barkett
2014 Harold Petersen
2014 Patsy Gilbert
2013 Tomme Jo Dale
2013 Michael H. Bradley
2010 Blue Diamond Growers
2010 Sacramento County U.C. Cooperative Extension Master Gardener Program
2009 Solano County State Fair Exhibit Team
2008 University of California, Davis
2007 Dr. Robert Dowell
2006 Richard Breitmeyer
2005 Wendy Hall
2004 Marden Wilber & JoAnn Switzer
2003 Mr. Jim Reeves
2002 Leon Adams
2001 Mr. William “Bill” Silveria
2000 Edward “Ed” Leal
1999 Gina Gallo & Leonard Bianchi
1998 Len Richardson
1997 Martin Boyle
1996 Gail Kautz
1995 Edwin Genasci
1994 Abbie Nelson
1993 Claudia Frost Bist